Joyce L. Connery, Chair Thomas A. Summers, Vice Chair Jessie H. Roberson

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

Washington, DC 20004-2901



September 8, 2023

The Honorable Jennifer M. Granholm Secretary of Energy US Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585-1000

Dear Secretary Granholm:

The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (Board) is pleased to recognize that the Department of Energy (DOE) has named Mr. Robert J. Geray of the DOE Idaho Operations Office (DOE-ID), as the 2022 Facility Representative of the Year.

Mr. Geray demonstrated superior leadership, technical competence, and dedication to nuclear safety during oversight activities at the Integrated Waste Treatment Unit (IWTU) and the New Waste Calcining Facility. His thorough line management assessment was crucial to the safe commencement of IWTU's radiological operations. He also devoted significant effort to mentoring a new facility representative candidate at DOE-ID. Mr. Geray's knowledge and skilled oversight have contributed significantly to the ongoing safety and operational readiness of DOE-ID facilities.

The Board also recognizes DOE-ID leadership for supporting Mr. Geray and promoting nuclear safety.

The Board joins DOE and its field office managers in acknowledging the important contributions made by all DOE facility representatives and extends its sincerest congratulations and best wishes to Mr. Geray. The Board invites Mr. Geray to meet with its executives during his next visit to the Washington, DC, area.

Sincerely, Joyce L. Connery

Chair

c: Mr. Lance LaCroix Mr. Robert Geray Mr. Joe Olencz Joyce L. Connery, Chair Thomas A. Summers, Vice Chair Jessie H. Roberson

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

Washington, DC 20004-2901



September 8, 2023

The Honorable Jennifer M. Granholm Secretary of Energy US Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585-1000

Dear Secretary Granholm:

The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (Board) is pleased to recognize that the Department of Energy (DOE) has awarded Mr. Thomas Temple of the Savannah River Operations Office (DOE-SR) the 2022 Annual Safety System Oversight (SSO) Award.

Mr. Temple provided essential safety oversight to the Savannah River Site Liquid Waste Mission, supporting efforts to accelerate closure of waste tanks and process high-level radioactive liquid waste. His nuclear safety expertise was instrumental in the review, revision, and approval of the safety basis documents supporting the Defense Waste Processing Facility transition to the Glycolic Acid-Nitric Acid flowsheet, which represents a significant safety improvement to liquid waste operations. Mr. Temple's focus on mentoring and training new employees is also noteworthy. Based on these and other accomplishments, Mr. Temple is well deserving of this professional honor.

The Board also recognizes DOE-SR leadership for supporting Mr. Temple and promoting nuclear safety.

The Board joins DOE and its field office managers in acknowledging the importance of contributions made by all DOE's SSO engineers and extends its sincerest congratulations and best wishes to Mr. Temple. The Board invites Mr. Temple to meet with its executives during his next visit to the Washington, DC, area.

Sincerely,

Jovce L. Connery

Chair

c: Mr. Michael D. Budney Mr. Thomas Temple Mr. Joe Olencz